01
Feb
08

More Vertex Noise Fun

I thought I’d see what happened if I added another two sphere primitives inside the GLSL patch.
I also changed the blend mode of the primitives, which gave the whole thing a slightly glowing, semi-transparent look, and emiminated the OpenGL Z-fighting issue. The tradeoff is it looks less ‘realistic’ this way, and you loose some apparent ‘3D-ness’.

The result is quite nice. The only slight annoyances are the fact that the edges of each sphere are still not anti-aliased, so you tend to get ugly jaggies appearing (I’ve chosed screenshots where this issue is minimised).

I’ve still got to work out how to make a constant antialias amount for the stripes. At the moment, if you increase the width of the stripes, they become softer at the edges, which isn’t really what I was after.

Being able to set different colours for the three nested spheres is also on my to-do list.

I really like the way the inertia on the controls has turned-out- it gives the thing a very organic, ‘alive’ quality.

Vertex Noise Edit 310108 02 Tiles

6 Responses to “More Vertex Noise Fun”


  1. February 1, 2008 at 11:06 pm

    looking-great-i-wanna-see-a-live-set-of-your-qc-patches-soon—-;-)

  2. 2 toneburst
    February 2, 2008 at 8:49 am

    Hiya!

    Oh, I don’t play the effects, I just make ‘em ;)

    alx

  3. February 3, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    looks really good man, when are you gonna publish the sources so we can play with the fx :P

  4. 4 toneburst
    February 3, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    I’ll send you the QTZ if you like. It’s REALLY simple (or I wouldn’t have been able to do it) ;)

    alx


Leave a Reply

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Links

Blog Stats

  • 390,680 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

