02
Apr
08

tb_sphericalHarmonics 1.01

I’ve updated the Spherical Harmonics qcClip with some extra controls.

It’s now possible to:
• Switch between soft and hard-edged versions of the preset tiles
• Switch between positive and negative (wireframe-like) tile modes
• Zoom the tiles
• Turn supersampling on/off
• Switch between Replace and Addition modes for the mesh
• Switch between preset texture tiles and live video input (when using as qcFX)
Thanks to Scott Furr for this excellent idea.

Don’t know if this will fix the problems some people have been experiencing getting the clip to work on some machines (including newer MacBook Pros).

Download it here

tb_sphericalHarmonics 1.01 01
tb_sphericalHarmonics 1.01 02
tb_sphericalHarmonics 1.01 03
tb_sphericalHarmonics 1.01 04

8 Responses to “tb_sphericalHarmonics 1.01”


  1. April 2, 2008 at 2:03 pm

    awesome, looking forward to making some amoeba dance with these :P

  2. 2 toneburst
    April 2, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Oh yeah—- it’s all about the amoebae…!! ;)

    a|x

  3. June 14, 2008 at 6:45 am

    Hi,

    Fantastic work. I have also made a dancing amoeba named Jovian.qtz derived from this neat technique, which we’d like to distribute with the next version of our app, AudioCodex.

    I can’t find a page detailing your licensing policy, so I’m asking you here: would this be okay? I am very happy to give you attribution under a CC Attribution style arrangement. Of course you may not like the idea. Let me know!

    I’ve put up a proposal page here:

    http://www.qtzlcodex.com/?q=mcdxqtz_jovian

    I will refrain from linking the dl until I hear back from you.

    Cheers,

    Alex

  4. 4 toneburst
    July 8, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    Hi Alex,

    sorry for not getting back to you for so long. I meant to compose a reply as soon as I got your comment, but didn’t get around to doing it right away, so it slipped through one of the many holes in my sieve-like brain…

    Jovian looks nice. I’d be interested to see it in action.

    In terms of attribution, I’d like to be credited with the original QC/GLSL implementation. The basic mathematical formula I used in the shader was extracted and adapted from work by Paul Bourke, found here
    http://local.wasp.uwa.edu.au/~pbourke/surfaces_curves/sphericalh/
    So he should also be credited I think.

    Hope this is OK, and apologies again for the (very) late reply.

    a|x

  5. July 25, 2008 at 11:01 am

    Hi a|x

    No worries mate. Thanks for your reply… We would be very happy to attribute it as such, and I’ll get onto that now.

    I have found your blog to be very inspiring, your work is exceptional. Thanks for your continued efforts, the community is much better off for it.

    Cheers

    Alex

  6. 6 toneburst
    July 26, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    HI Alex,

    thanks very much for the positive feedback! It’s always good to hear people have got something from my online sketchbook!

    Let me know how you get on with the conversion. I’d like to see it when it’s done.

    a|x


Leave a Reply

Twitter

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Links

Blog Stats

  • 378,046 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

