11
Dec
10

Cube, Cylinder, Line Field qcFX Updated

Updated versions of some of my very early QC experiments, but this time using OpenCL instead of the Image Pixel patch, which speeds things up quite a lot. It should fall back to using Image Pixel if OpenCL isn’t available, but I’ve not been able to test that, as I no longer have a non-OpenCL-capable machine.

‘tb Field qcFX 2.0.1.zip’ in the Widget.

9 Responses to “Cube, Cylinder, Line Field qcFX Updated”


  1. December 21, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    This is beautiful. Just started to learn QC and your works keep me going. Thanks…

  2. December 22, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    I had some experiments with real similar stuff a while back at kineme, inspired by some stuff I saw a guy doing in OpenSceneGraph.

    In that thread, there’s a thing I think you may find interesting, where for areas of certain pixel value, I render more objects, and there is also a physics reaction going on based on how fast you move. I may have posted the actual OpenSceneGraph clip…which was *very* cool, imo, because the circles that comprise the image degenerate into liquid sim, but stay as solid circles.

    • 4 toneburst
      December 22, 2010 at 3:31 pm

      I remember the clip, but I didn’t realise anything so complex was going on. Did look nice though. Oddly enough, though the setup above is very simple in theory, it’s surprising how complicated the compositions became.

      a|x

  3. December 22, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    Agreed; it’s funny how complex they can become… and your work is tidy, to your credit.

    ( I’ve wanted to make a fluid kernel that works on vectors instead of image, to use in these scenarios.)

    • 6 toneburst
      December 22, 2010 at 10:14 pm

      Yeah, I’ve not really looked into fluid effects much. Another thing on the list.
      And thanks, I try to keep things tidy. Probably spend too much time trying to keep things tidy, in fact….

      a|x

  4. 7 Joe catchpole
    January 9, 2011 at 1:49 am

    Sweet, and they do work in image pixels fallback mode :)

  5. 9 toneburst
    May 18, 2011 at 8:42 am

    Sorry for the delayed reply. I will look into this as soon as I get a chance.

    a|x


Leave a Reply

Twitter

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Links

Blog Stats

  • 377,633 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

