02
Mar
08

Superformula GLSL

I’ve just managed to get a GLSL version of the amazing VVVV Superformula shader working in Quartz Composer. It’s early days yet, as so far I’ve not been able to get the lighting working. For this version, I’ve simply commented-out all the bits that seem to relate to lighting, and substituted the very simple fake lighting Desaxismundi used in the Surfaces Simple shader I converted earlier.

Superformula GLSL 01

4 Responses to “Superformula GLSL”


  1. March 3, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    Don’t do lighting it’s perfect like this !

    regards.

    Yanomano

  2. 2 toneburst
    March 3, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    Well, thank you yanomano!

    thing is, I really want to be able to work out how to do lighting, even if I don’t use it!

    alx

  3. 3 Neb
    March 17, 2008 at 6:25 am

    Nice work, I really like the soft texture. I don’t know any GLSL, kind of jealous that you can get something that smooth working in quartz. Would you be interested in bringing in a beta tester ;).

  4. 4 toneburst
    March 17, 2008 at 9:20 am

    I’m jealous of the people who wrote the code I translated- I’m a lonnnnnnng way off knowing how to write this kind of stuff from scratch (and with my lack of maths skills, I’m probably never going to get there)…

    The later screenshots of this QTZ are much nicer, by the way. Once I got the edges smoothed-out a little, it looked much nicer.
    Never did manage to get lighting to work with this one though, for some reason…

    I’ll consider the beta tester idea- it’s good to get some feedback, and test stuff on another system, too.
    Good thought.

    alx


Leave a Reply

Twitter

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Links

Blog Stats

  • 470,209 hits

