24
Mar
08

Spherical Harmonics Rendering Issues

It seems some people have been having problems getting the Spherical Harmonics qcClip to work properly. Everything works fine on my 1st-generation MacBook Pro, but it seems some other systems/graphics cards have issues. In fact, I just tried it on my soon-to-be-replaced G5, and it didn’t render correctly on this system either.

Apologies to anyone else effected. I’m not sure what the issue is as yet, but I’ll try and track it down.

Any clues anyone might have as to why it might not be working greatly appreciated.

3 Responses to “Spherical Harmonics Rendering Issues”


  1. 1 hob
    March 24, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    What issues? Seems to be working fine on my *ahem* Santa Rosa MacBook… I would kill for a MacBook Pro to render my stuff on!

  2. 2 hob
    March 25, 2008 at 1:56 am

    Well, here’s something.

    It won’t render above 1024xXXX (can’t work out what on the Y-axis… but up to the size of my macbook screen it’s fine!)

  3. 3 toneburst
    March 25, 2008 at 8:52 am

    Hi hob,

    I’m not too surprised it won’t render at higher resolutions, to be honest. I’m using a technique called ‘supersampling’ to smooth the edges of the mesh. This basically means rendering the GLSL shader to an image at 2x output size (so in this case, 2048xXXXX pixels), then resizing it back down to the correct size again. I’m going to add the option to turn supersampling on/off, which might allow you to render the mesh at higher resolutions (but at the expense of introducing lots of nasty ‘jaggies’ around the edges of the mesh).

    alx


Leave a Reply

Twitter

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Links

Blog Stats

  • 474,731 hits

