18
Apr
08

Spherical Height Field

It’s dawning on me that it’s not been particularly clear exactly what I’ve been on about with this Height Field stuff, so I thought I’d post some examples of the end result, just to make it a bit clearer. I’ve also made a little demo QTZ, which can be downloaded here

So, this is the result of feeding an image like those in the previous post into the GL Height Field plugin:

This whole thing will be a lot more impressive once I can map images onto the surface of the mesh.

It would also be great to be able stick the whole thing inside a GLSL Shader patch, and apply a sprinkling of GLSL magic. I’m not sure it that’s possible though. The current Height Field plugin won’t render at all when placed inside a GLSL Patch, for some reason. I’ll have to try and find out why, when I have a little more time.

3 Responses to “Spherical Height Field”


  1. 1 hob
    April 20, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    I understand now. This is giving me lots of interesting ideas. I’m thinking could you start with a 2d image, which would be a height mesh with an image mapped to it, which from the perspective would look like a normal 2D image…

    Then, when you rotate the image, suddenly the audience notices that it’s looking like a graph – the lighter the tones of the image the higher the mesh elements…

    (does this make any sense? I’m going to draw it at some point!)

  2. 2 George Toledo
    November 22, 2008 at 1:52 am

    The GL Height field plug in does work in some shaders… I haven’t found anything spectacular though. It is probably that when you move the patch, you broke the input image… just republish the input, and re-attach to the camera input…

  3. 3 toneburst
    November 22, 2008 at 10:07 am

    Hi George,

    but you can’t apply a texture to it inside a shader, as it doesn’t have any texture coordinates. This severely limits what you can do with it.

    a|x


Leave a Reply

Twitter

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Links

Blog Stats

  • 471,196 hits

