18
Jun
08

Quietude

I’ve been a bit caught up in other things lately, so haven’t had a chance to do much QC stuff, sadly.
I’ve got a long list of things I’d like to work on though, so as soon as I get a chance, I’ll post more stuff.

The next thing will probably be a collection of 3D surface/lighting shaders I’ve been working on. They’re mostly based on shaders from the NVIDIA Shader Library. The plan is to release them into the wild soon. I’ll probably do a couple of little tweaks, release the current collection, then add more as-and-when I get around to converting/creating more.

2 Responses to “Quietude”


  1. 1 yanomano
    June 20, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    An article on HLSL to GLSL conversion should be very instructive !

  2. 2 blouboy
    June 22, 2008 at 3:05 am

    I agree with Yanomano, both in the particular case he mentions and in general.

    I have been amazed at and thankful for what you and the Kineme guys among others have been able to contribute to the Quartz Composer using community. I don’t have the time or the knowledge that you guys do and there is no way that will be able to do what you guys have. That said, I would like to be able to add a bit, and I’m sure there are plenty more out there in my situation. I just don’t know where to start learning the skills that go into what you are doing.

    Do I need to learn to program in some standard language to develop the skill base that comes into play? Obviously experience in using computers in general can never hurt, but in terms of specifics, I am clueless. You have said you aren’t a programmer, which I would very much argue isn’t true, but if it doesn’t take being a programmer to do what you are doing, them I am really baffled about how to go about doing it. A brief tutorial on just what a shader is would help me considerably. I don’t really don’t have any clue about basics like whether I can open them up and mess round or how I might go about that.

    A little workshop of sorts would be wonderful. Could you walk us through the process of making one of the conversions and explain it a bit? That might stimulate a discussion and contributions from your visitors that keep things going between your opportunities to post. I, for one check in daily, and from your hit numbers, it looks like I’m not alone.


Leave a Reply

Twitter

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Links

Blog Stats

  • 472,055 hits

