24
Jul
08

Konstructivist qcFX

Just knocked together a quick experimental qcFX, based on a soviet print-style advert I saw for a Billy Idol concert. I’m not a Billy Idol fan, but I did like the graphic effect, so I thought I’d try to create something similar as a video effect in QC. This is just something I put together really quickly, a ‘throwaway effect’ if you like, so it’s probably not particularly efficient. I don’t plan to spend much more time on it, so you’re welcome to take it and do with it what you will.

And, yes, I know it’s another picture of me….
I don’t do it because I’m vain- it’s because I’m lazy, and can’t be bothered to stick anything more interesting than my laptop’s iSight through the effect.
Sorry about that.

In the Widget
tb_Konstructivist_1.0.qtz


8 Responses to “Konstructivist qcFX”


  1. July 24, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    Ohh, really great fx, thanks for it!

  2. July 24, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    Really nice fx, thanks for it!

  3. July 24, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    Really nice effect, thanks !

  4. July 24, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    that’s great. wish I could knock something like that together on a whim!

    it looks really great even with the grainy iSight. Makes me wonder whether images like that could be vectorised on the fly…

  5. 5 toneburst
    July 24, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    Cheers guys!

    I may done a more generalised version at some point. I quite like the idea of replacing parts of the image with simple, pop-art-style textures.

    I’m sure there’s a more efficient way of doing it though.

    a|x

  6. July 24, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    thats lovely, thanks again : )

  7. 7 toneburst
    July 24, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Re.Vectorisation:

    it would be cool, wouldn’t it….
    It would be cool if QC could handle vector stuff natively. No idea if you could write something to do realtime vectorising though. Think it would be pretty hardcore, mathematically. I’ve never seen anything do that in realtime before.

    You might be able to achieve something similar by blurring the image first, before applying the threshold effects. vade’s amazing ultrafast blur is going to open up so many different options. I usually avoid using any kind of blur in my FX, because of the unacceptable performance hit, so it’ll take me a while to get back into thinking of uses for blur in my work.

    a|x

  8. July 24, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    I’d not seen the ultrafast blur, I’ll google it. out of interest, what is your method for debugging a patch? do you use the debug mode in QC? I’ve never really worked that one out…


Leave a comment


July 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Links

Blog Stats

  • 502,005 hits