11
Dec
08

tb Quartz Composer Clips

For those not in the know, Clips are a really handy way of keeping a library of commonly-used macros, ready for instantly adding to your composition. Unlike Virtual Patches though, Clips appear as ordinary macros when added to your composition, so you can see what’s inside them. The other difference is that once added, they lose all links with the original Clip, so if you update the Clip, it’s not automatically updated in all the compositions that use it.

I’ve found myself using Clips more and more lately, and have built up a library of macros I commonly use. I don’t know how useful they’ll be to anyone else, but someone out there might find a use for some of them, so I thought I’d put them out there, just in case.

To use them, copy the contents of the zip file to
~/Library/Application Support/Apple/Developer Tools/Quartz Composer/Clips
(where /~ is your Home Folder). You should then be able to see them in the patch browser, with descriptions.

‘tb_Clips_Dec08.zip’ in Box.net widget.

tb Quartz Composer Clips

tb Quartz Composer Clips

3 Responses to “tb Quartz Composer Clips”


  1. 1 Lee
    January 12, 2009 at 3:17 am

    These clips look really useful. I’m delighted to have access to all the included QC javascript examples. Thanks so much!

  2. 2 toneburst
    January 12, 2009 at 9:36 am

    Glad you find them useful!
    It’s a good idea to get into the habit of making your own clips, I think. Whenever I make up a little macro for QTZ I’m working on, I think ‘will I use this again’. If the answer is ‘yes’, I make it into a clip. You’ll end up with a really useful little library, that will save you lots of time in the long-run.

    a|x

  3. 3 Lee
    January 12, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    Good advice. Will do. I also wanted to add a special thanks in closing for the CIBlend Modes clip. That one clip alone will get substantial usage and save me considerable time.

    Salut!


Leave a Reply

Twitter

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Links

Blog Stats

  • 472,055 hits

