11
Mar
09

Chladni Patterns

OK, I promised more info on these screenshots:

They’re based on formulae found here for sound wave propagation through vibrating membranes. In fact, though, the QTZ I produced doesn’t really model natural phenomena, as I’m using a version of the formula for a rectangular plate, but driven by a polar coordinate system. I’ve also added an adjustable exponential multiplier to the rho coordinate (which represents each pixel’s distance from the centre of the texture), to make it look more interesting.

EDIT:

Finally managed to get a working video-grab of the effect in action.

12 Responses to “Chladni Patterns”


  1. 1 mazn
    March 20, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    fucking sweet dude! Any chance you will post this one? I would really love to play around with it.

    • 2 toneburst
      March 21, 2009 at 10:17 pm

      Cheers mazn!

      I may post this later in the week. I haven’t spend much time setting up controls for it yet though. If you’re happy fiddling around with that youself, I’ll send you the QTZ as-is. I won’t have much free time to spend on it for a few weeks, unfortunately.

      a|x

  2. 3 mazn
    March 21, 2009 at 11:14 pm

    YES! lol i would love for you to email me a copy of it as is. I am salivating at the chance to run it in vdmx! If you would be so kind to send it my way with a lil heads up as to what things can be controlled, i am sure i can figure out what most things do. I dont have much quartz experience but i know how to set up controls for vdmx. So i might be able to do some of that work for you. THANKS a bunch.

    – matt

  3. 4 vim
    April 7, 2009 at 1:13 am

    Hey toneburst, love the patterns 🙂

    Is there any chance of getting access to the QTZ as is, so I could have a play? Am happy to re-post any results…

    Thanks!
    Vim

    • 5 toneburst
      April 8, 2009 at 10:12 am

      I’m away for the next couple of weeks. You could try asking one of the other people who replied to this post- I think I sent the QTZ to someone, though I can’t currently recall who.

      Hope this helps,

      a|x

  4. April 19, 2009 at 4:42 am

    Hello!

    This look amazing, great work.

    Does anyone have the QC patch they could send to me for this one?

    Thanks

    R

  5. 7 toneburst
    April 28, 2009 at 11:37 am

    I’ve uploaded the QTZ to the Box.net widget on the right.
    Name: ‘tb_Chaldno_0.1.qtz’

    a|x

  6. 8 toneburst
    April 28, 2009 at 11:37 am

    I’ve uploaded the QTZ to the Box.net widget on the right.
    Name: ‘tb_Chladni_0.1.qtz’

    a|x

  7. 9 toneburst
    April 28, 2009 at 11:37 am

    I’ve uploaded the QTZ to the Box.net widget on the right.
    Name: ‘tb_Chladni_0.1.qtz’

    a|x

    • 10 veronica
      May 21, 2009 at 12:11 am

      hi… im working in an architectural proyect based on cymatics and I found your work really interesting. Can u send me the qtz.?
      i hope u can help me.

  8. July 22, 2010 at 11:06 am

    hi, how would i go about modifying this so that it responds to audio input?

    • 12 toneburst
      July 28, 2010 at 8:42 am

      Hiya,

      sorry for the late reply. Been busy with non-QC stuff lately.

      There are several possible methods for syncing movement to audio levels. If you use the VDMX modular VJ software (made by the guys at http://www.vidvox.net, I highly recommend it, if you haven’t already checked it out), you can play QC files as video media, and use VDMXs builtin Audio Analysis tools to map the controls of a QTZ to audio levels in various frequency ranges.

      The QC-only method would be to use the Audio Processor patch to extract Low Mid and High range level data from an audio stream, and use that information to control parameters of the effect.

      Hope this helps,

      a|x


Leave a Reply

Twitter

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Links

Blog Stats

  • 472,055 hits

