04
Jun
09

The Perennial vBomb.fx

I keep coming back to this one (and so do lots of other people, by the looks of it).
It’s a GLSL conversion of the old NVIDIA HLSL vBomb shader, that applies Perlin Noise to vertex positions in much the same way as the Quartz Composer Vertex Noise example.

The idea here though was that I’d try to make a version that would be more likely to be hardware-accelerated. Since the GLSL noise() functions aren’t actually implemented on all graphics hardware. The fact that they seem to generally be pretty slow, at least on my ATI X1600, suggests to me that this is the case with my card, and GLSL noise() is actually forcing software-render-fallback. The vBomb conversion certainly seems pretty fast, though!

Here some examples that don’t take things any further than the original vBomb, in terms of the output. I’m planning to add lighting too, though. Again, absolutely nothing original about that- in fact, Desaxismundi’s beautifully-lit vBomb vvvv shaders (witness here, and, particularly here) were one of my original inspirations for getting into 3D graphics, and particularly GLSL shaders in the first place. I owe Desaxismundi, and the vvvv community generally a huge debt of gratitude for introducing me to this wonderful (if confusing) world.

2 Responses to “The Perennial vBomb.fx”


  1. 1 micon
    June 6, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    where is the code? i cant fint it anywhere

    please put the code

    • 2 toneburst
      June 6, 2009 at 6:28 pm

      Hi there.

      I didn’t share the code because I’m not confident it’s correct. I’ve been getting a lot of QC (and Finder, for that matter) crashes when working with it, so I suspect there are some nasty errors in my GLSL somewhere.

      I’ll look into it, and will release the code when I’m confident it’s not going to turn around and bite you.

      a|x


Leave a Reply

Twitter

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Links

Blog Stats

  • 473,930 hits

