03
Mar
11

Reaction-Diffusion Shader Interesting Errors

I’ve been getting some interesting results with a Reaction-Diffusion shader. It’s definitely not setup in the way it should be yet, but has produced some interesting images nonetheless. The stills are a bit misleading, as in motion, the effect is very hard to watch at the moment, as it flickers horribly.

This is based on a GLSL port of Sanch’s HLSL shader for vvvv, posted on the vvvv website, so all credit goes to him.
It’s hug fun to play with, though the results I’m getting look very different from the screenshots on his (still amazing) website.

6 Responses to “Reaction-Diffusion Shader Interesting Errors”


  1. 1 livingthingdan
    March 3, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    Tasty indeed. I don’t suppose you’re thinking of sharing the code?

    • 2 toneburst
      March 3, 2011 at 11:17 pm

      Currently it’s basically the same code Sanch uses in the Reaction-Diffusion shader for vvvv here
      http://vvvv.org/contribution/reaction-diffusion

      Though my results look very different from the screenshots on that page. I think I’m making some major error in the way I’m setting up the shader in Quartz Composer, or I’ve made some basic mistake in my HLSL > GLSL conversion. Either way, it’s definitely a fun and addictive toy to play with. I had planned to do other stuff this evening, but…

      a|x

  2. 3 George Toledo
    April 22, 2011 at 9:11 am

    I get a lot of results that look like that when I do feedback look things that involve line detection processing… it would be interesting to see what it looks like moving. Does it have that Cellular Automate/ TV static feel at times?

    Nice patterns man!

    • 4 toneburst
      April 25, 2011 at 8:36 am

      I kinda gave up on this one, to be honest. I never got it properly setup. The stillframes are more interesting than the effect in motion. It’s really hard to control, and flickers horribly.

      a|x

  3. 5 pixelnoizz
    June 10, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    thats really interesting. please post video with all the flickers!


Leave a Reply

Twitter

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Links

Blog Stats

  • 378,121 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

