11
Feb
11

Flash, But Nice

This Perlin Noise Vector Flow-Field visualisation is nice.


2 Responses to “Flash, But Nice”


  1. 1 George Toledo
    April 22, 2011 at 9:21 am

    That was really attractive…

    I bit ago I made a special skanky plugin that renders a k3d object (like parametric surface or models) at any place or color specified by vector; with one variant I set it up to all come from one keyed struct. Then I realized it was better for positions and colors to be separate sometimes, so I made a B version. Still feeling it out.

    I’ve been on the back burner, but seeing this reminds me of just the type of stuff I can’t wait to use it for. It kicks the iterators ass, approach wise. I think I probably want to add in ability to scale and rotate per index… right now it’s just placement, colors. It’s pretty damn amazing, if I do say so myself. Hopefully it will see some release before I have gray hair. Whoops, too late 🙂

    I’m pretty sure I stand a shot at rendering Apple’s stuff similarly… I just don’t know if it’s worth it, or if it would be more useful? The kineme3D paramatric structure lets one make lots of different types of things when you can feed it a vector position struct, and then a color struct. I think people would probably really dig it. Is it something you would use?

    • 2 toneburst
      April 25, 2011 at 8:34 am

      Sounds interesting- very like the kind of thing we were talking about a few years ago. It’s essentially the approach used in VVVV (and possibly also Max/Jitter) to multiple instances of the same thing. In VVVV-speak they’re called spreads. There’s huge potential, I think.

      a|x


Leave a comment


February 2011
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Links

Blog Stats

  • 502,082 hits